Verifiable Reviews from Previous Guests at the Willow Bank

The Willow Bank cottage is one of the most often reviewed vacation properties in Ontario, Canada on Flipkey and Trip Advisor. It has consistently received 5 stars and is one of their highest rated vacation properties as determined from the on-line reviews input by guests following their stay.

Guests that have stayed at the Willow Bank have consistently given the cottage 5 Stars reviews when they have rated the cottage for:

  • Check in
  • Cleanliness
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Service
  • Value

In 2011, 2012, 2013 and again in 2014, the Willow Bank cottage received the "Top Vacation Property Award" from Flipkey and Trip Advisor. This award was given to only a select few vacation properties world-wide and was based on verified reviews input by guests following their stay at the cottage.

During 2015, FlipKey and Trip Advisor changed the way they collected reviews from people that had stayed at the Willow Bank cottage. It became more burdensome for my guests to input reviews and as such, I stopped asking my guests to review the cottage following their stays. That is the reason I have few on-line reviews for the 2015-2017 rental seasons. But an inspection of my on-site guest book will show that my 2015-2017 guests continued to enjoy the cottage, the location and the amenities we provide.

Please take a moment to read what our previous guests have had to say about the Willow Bank cottage. Their full reviews are available on the Flipkey web-site. 

A TripAdvisor Member, Owen Sound, Ontario 
 
Riva B
Owen Sound, Canada

“Stress free serenity surrounded by the beauty of nature”

01/26/2016

Along with a small group of friends, I spent a weekend at the Willow Bank cottage last fall. The cottage was clean and comfortable and really well equipped. We enjoyed sitting on the front deck relaxing and watching the beautiful view overlooking the waterfront. In the evening we sat around a camp-fire at water's edge under a star-filled sky that was breathtaking. It rained on the second night of our stay but our group was well entertained watching a movie on the HDTV located in the entertainment room. The gas fireplace there kept the room warm and cozy. The cottage owner responded quickly to my inquiry and booking the cottage was easy and straightforward. I would have no hesitation recommending the Willow Bank cottage to other travelers. Our small group is planning to make a visit to the Willow Bank part of our annual tradition.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Willow Bank cottage. I'm happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. I look forward to hosting your group again.

Beautiful cottage close to great hiking trails

A TripAdvisor Member, Toronto, Ontario 

09/24/2014   

Staying at this cottage was a really nice experience. It was extremely clean and all three rooms (including the guest cabin) were very comfortable. It was within 15 mins to great hiking trails, had a fire pit and kayaks. Highly recommended!

Relaxing, beautiful and fantastic retreat

Allen L, Toronto, Ontario
 
09/02/2014   

Our week at the Willow Bank was more relaxing and enjoyable than we have expected. The serene and private surrounding was a wonderful getaway from the big city, and it's a great place to just sit back, take it easy and forget about the time. Almost wish this place remains a hidden gem! Thanks again Glenn! 

 Response from Willow Bank - Glenn A. Aishford - 09/12/2014

Wonderful place to stay

09/22/2014  

Robin B, Waterloo, Ontario 

This is a wonderful place to stay.
There is a lot to do and enjoy right from the cabin. It's especially suited to young children due to the shallow water (I have a two-year-old). Really short drive to a perfect beach. Close to Tobermory and the national park.

The cabin is comfortable and just like a home. It has everything you need. Entertainment systems, amazing views, and a well-stocked kitchen etc. We really enjoyed seeing the flying squirrels as well as all the birds at the feeders.

The owners were fast to respond to any questions. It was a bit of work to complete the booking. It is worth it to know the owners only rent to reliable people. They took great care of individual requests (put out the high chair for us). I would definitely recommend this rental.

Owner

Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have many families with young children mention that the shallow water and the apron of sand along the water's edge in front of the cottage was the perfect place for their young children to play. The flying squirrels and the birds at the feeders are always entertaining. I hope to welcome you and your family back to the Willow Bank again sometime.

Our Stay was Wonderful

Reviewed in July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Dr. I.L., Toronto, Ontario

Hi Glenn, 
 
Thank you for introducing us to the Bruce Peninsula, we all had a wonderful week at your meticulously kept cottage.  Both you and Brenda's attention to details, from the beautiful planters, the 3 different bird feeders, the well-equipped kitchen to the high-tech yet cozy movie room made our stay that much more enjoyable. The kids had great fun catching crayfishes, minnows, and frogs right at creek along with all the animals that they saw in the area.  Your campfire by the water was one of the best sites to see the spectacular display of stars on a clear night. We'll definitely consider returning in the future. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of the summer!
 
The Li family
 
Management Response:
 
We are always happy to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay at the Willow Bank cottage. We fell in love with the Northern Bruce Peninsula over 40 years ago. We know that it is a place worth visiting and have been welcoming visitors from all over the world for over 10 years. We would welcome you and your family back to the cottage anytime.
 
Great Memories and an Ambience of Peace and Serenity
 
Reviewed in July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
 
Diane C., Calgary Canada

Our stay was wonderful and the owners Glenn and Brenda ensured there was everything available for both creature comforts (us) and nature at our doorstep. Seeing the wonders at our doorstep; the peaceful surroundings was all that we had hoped for. Travelling from Calgary there was the side of nature we do not have. Would definitely recommend Willow Bank.

 Management response:

We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Willow Bank. We would welcome you back anytime.

Great silent place & extremely clear night sky ! 

05/28/2014  

Zbyszek T- Warsaw, Poland 

We are very happy that we have chosen this cottage on our tour from Europe. We spent a great time in this beautiful location and the cottage is one of our favorite places in Canada. The clear sky full of stars with luminous Milky Way is amazing. Meteors are brighter, and the night there is the most spectacular!
During the day we were accompanied by birds, whose habits amazed us.
We met a lot of animals here (but we did not encounter a bear).
All we want is... to be back there soon!


Thank you, Glenn!

Camelopardalids Expedition 2014

Owner's response:

Glenn A. Aishford

Saira, Toronto

Amazing  

Left on 05/07/2014 for a stay in May 2014 

Our trip to willow bank cottage was an amazing expérience. This was Our first trip to any cottage ever. It was better Than what wé expected,thé cottage was fully equipped.i couldnt find one thing that was not available there in thé cottage. thé location Is beautiful,thé host was amazing .. i Would highly rexomme d this cottage to Evryone.Tobermory is à beautiful place. Only if this cottage coule accomodate bigger groups,ill go with m'y entire family. A great experience for us and definitely recommandés :) 

Thanks Saira for choosing to stay at the Willow Bank. It is always special to host a group at the cottage that have never spent anytime in the country far away from the big city. I am glad that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay and would welcome you folks back anytime.

Response from Glenn A. Aishford - 02/16/2014

Owner's response:

Glenn A. Aishford

Thanks Saira for choosing to stay at the Willow Bank. It is always special to host a group at the cottage that have never spent anytime in the country far away from the big city. I am glad that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back anytime.

Alan and Audrey
Toronto

Great Family Holiday

01/26/2014   

Our family 2 adults, our 3 kids and 2 grandparents spent a week in this beautiful cottage at the end of August. Right beside the river and only a 400m paddle in the kayaks to Lake Huron. Nature was always close by with Hummingbirds feeding from the balcony feeder, hares jumping in the lawn, coyotes howling at night and the kids had a great time catching and releasing frogs. The night sky is fantastic.
The main house is very modern and has all necessary modern conveniences. The cabin is more rustic but comes with bundles of charm. All had a ball and we we sad to leave after a great week.

Owner's response:

Glenn A. Aishford

Owner

Thanks, Alan and Audrey for taking the time to review the cottage following your stay in August.

I am happy that you and your children were able to see and hear some of the wildlife that live in the area surrounding the cottage. I believe it is these encounters with nature that children staying at the cottage seem to really enjoy.

I am glad that you folks enjoyed the night sky. For some young children that have stayed at the cottage, the first time they have really spent any time outside after dark is when they were sitting around a campfire and roasting marshmallows with their parents, Seeing a star filled sky overhead and hearing a pack of coyotes howling off in the distance is not something that children will ever soon forget.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Willow Bank and we hope you folks will consider returning to the cottage again sometime.

Stephanie and David
Toronto

Most beautiful winter experience in a wonderful cottage 

01/06/2014   

Our week at the Willow Bank Cottage was fabulous - we received a warm welcome from the owners and the cottage was cozy, very clean and just perfect.  We loved being in the cottage or venturing out in the winter wonderland around the cottage. The location is perfect to enjoy winter to its fullest on the Bruce Peninsula.  Lots of possibilities to go walking, snow shoeing or cross country skiing.  And even so we had lots of snow and cold temperatures, the cottage was nice and warm and very comfortable.
We loved our stay there and would definitely come back and recommend it to friends and family.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Luxury, Families

 Response from Glenn A. Aishford - 01/06/2014

Glenn  A. Aishford
Cottage Owner

Thank you Stephanie and David, for deciding to stay at the Willow Bank cottage and for taking the time to post an on-line review. It was a true pleasure having you and your extended family spend time at the cottage this winter.

As you know, this was our first time making the cottage available during the holiday season. We were hoping that there would be a family wanting to enjoy the Northern Bruce Peninsula when there was snow on the ground.

We look forward to welcoming you folks back to the cottage anytime. 

Steve&Jenn
Paris

Just a fantastic place

Left on 10/12/2013 for a stay in October 2013

Everything was just as pictured and more.
Private, beautiful, wildlife, etc.
The owner was an incredible person to deal with.
I could rave all day about this place, I did not want to leave.
Well off the beaten path but yet close to everything.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Luxury, Families

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 10/12/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thanks Steve and Jenn, for taking the time to input a review of the cottage. I do appreciate it.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Willow Bank. I am always thrilled when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I hope you folks will return to the cottage again sometime.

Tobermory
Guelph On

Great week at Willow Bank

Left on 10/05/2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great cottage; the newly renovated bathroom and basement are lovely.  Kitchen stocked with everything you need. Feels very private and secluded. Great place to relax but close enough to Tobermory and Cyprus Lake for hiking/exploring. Only 1 indoor bathroom which is fine for couples or families, but groups may find it inconvenient.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Families

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 10/05/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage.

The construction of the second bathroom on the lower level is well underway and I expect that it will be in place by the 2015 rental season.

I trust that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and would welcome you folks back anytime.

DLS Family
Ontario

Amazing place!

Left on 09/14/2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed the beautiful place, great amenities and peaceful location.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Families

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 09/14/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you. I hope you folks will consider returning again sometime.

IanQ
Oakville Ontario

The Beautiful Bruce Peninsula

Left on 08/25/2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage was fantastic, beautifully adorned, all the comforts of a great getaway to cottage country and also all the high tech toys families with kids need!

Very serene, birds abound, bunnies in the front garden day and night.

Loved having the kayaks and doing treks out to the various inlets near by. Absolutely enjoyed access to the best parts of the Bruce Trail, all within 30 minutes of the cottage.

The only challenge was access to water deep enough to swim, involved a longish hike to the swim raft. Unfortunately all 'lakefront' cottages along the peninsula have long since become 'lake view', one day hopefully the water levels will rise back to where they once were.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Families


Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 08/26/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage.

I do what I can to ensure that the cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped for all of our guests. However, there are a few things that I have no control over including the weather and lake levels. I would also like to see the lake level rebound to Its more normal levels. In the meantime, the cottage can be ideal for families with young children who can play in relative safety in the water and sand in front of the cottage. Children love catching minnows, frogs and cray fish or simply digging in the sand or making sand castles. Many of our visitors to the cottage have enjoyed paddling the kayaks to the swimming raft and then taking a refreshing dip into the crystal clear water of Lake Huron.

I would welcome you folks back to the Willow Bank anytime!

!!!!!!!!!!
Windsor, Ontario

Wonderful family vacation spot

Left on 08/04/2013 for a stay in July 2013

Very clean. Very spacious.  Wonderful movie room to enjoy evening family movie nights.  Enjoyed coffee on the deck and the beautiful views.

Thanks for making the stay comfortable!!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Families

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 08/04/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage following your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope you will consider returning to the Willow Bank again sometime.

A. O'Muiri
Mississauga

An idyllic week up North!
Left on 07/30/2013 for a stay in July 2013
We spent a week at the Willow Bank cottage and could not have asked for a more beautiful setting in the Bruce Peninsula.  Glenn met us on arrival, was very welcoming, and showed us the ins and outs of the cottage.  The cottage itself has all the amenities one could ask for - essentially a home away from home.  The deck overlooking the inlet to Lake Huron was extremely inviting and we took great delight in watching the blue jays, finches, cardinals, hummingbirds, rabbits, chipmunks and red squirrels.  The kayaks were well used and brought us out to the swimming pad.  The cottage is very private and the outdoor cabin is ideal for young teenagers.  It's just a 15 minute drive to the village of Tobermory and other attractions such as Cypress Lake are close by.  We thoroughly enjoyed our week and would highly recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a break away from the city!  Thanks to Glenn for his hospitality.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Families

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 07/30/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you Angela for taking the time to review the cottage. It was a pleasure to meet you all and I am thrilled that you were able to relax and enjoy some of the natural beauty of the area surrounding the cottage.

I hope you folks will consider returning to the Willow Bank again sometime.

Ulrike & Franz
Berlin

Little Paradise !

Left on 07/25/2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful week in this beautiful house with a view to the creek and to Lake Huron.  We are a family from Berlin with two teenage kids and we were looking for a peaceful and quiet place to relax within our journey around parts of Canada and the us. Willow Bank was exactly what we had been looking for! The house is spacious, very clean and so cozy with many lovely details that it makes you feel at home immediately. It is fully equipped, there was nothing we missed. The beds are vey comfortable, the bathroom is big with a shower and a bathtub. Our kids enjoyed the modern movie room in the basement. We cooked a lot "at home" enjoying the big terrace and the view to the nature or observing the many different birds you can see there. The house also has a big beautiful garden with flowers, bushes and stones!
There were canoes we could use to the swimming raft to enjoy the warm and clear water of Lake Huron whenever we wanted. At night we could use the fire place in the garden to "grill" marshmellows and look at the stars.Glenn is a very accommodating and nice host! He welcomed us with little torches for our kids and a Canadian cake specialty and showed us everything in the house.
Our kids enjoyed the place so much that it was hard to make them come hiking with us in the Georgian Bay (which is worth seeing too!). We can really recommend this beautiful and comfortable cottage to everyone who is seeking a peaceful vacation right in the nature.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Romantic, Families

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 07/25/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you Ulrike and Franz for deciding to spend time at the Willow Bank. I am excited when I welcome visitors from Europe to the cottage.

I know that you met our friend and neighbour, Harry, during your stay. Harry left Hamburg and emigrated to Canada in 1954 to make a new life in Canada. He loves to meet and greet my visitors to the cottage that have travelled from Deutschland.

It was a pleasure to meet your children as they were both polite and respectful of me and our cottage.

The "little flashlights" and "butter tarts" that I gave you on your arrival was my way of welcoming you to the cottage following your long trip.

Thanks again for your review and I trust that you will have happy memories of your trip to Canada and the U.S..

I would welcome you folks back to the Willow Bank anytime.

 

Kat & Rob
Windsor Ontario Canada

We miss it already!!!

Left on 07/09/2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had the most amazing time.  Was so relaxing to wake each morning and sit on the back deck and watch all of mother natures beauty.  We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by Glenn who waited patiently for us.  The cottage is very cozy with all the comforts of being at home.  The cottage is very close to Singing Sands beach and 15 min to The Grotto.   This is a must see truly an amazing wonder of the world.  Our family had alot of fun.  Our daughter and her friend (14) had so much fun with the kayaks n paddle boat.  The first day the girls took the paddle boat out the tide was low and well they got stuck. Glenn happened to call at just the right moment and came right over and got them out of their mess. Bare feet and all with a smile on his face.  We had a fabulous vacation and would recommend for sure.  We look forward to planning our next trip.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 07/09/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thanks folks for deciding to stay at the Willow Bank cottage this summer. I am always happy when families have an opportunity to spend time there, together, relaxing and enjoying the cottage and the amenities we have provided. I will always do anything I can to ensure that my guests are safe and happy. I hope you folks will consider returning to the Willow Bank again sometime.

Catch-Light
North Bay

Peaceful Family Retreat

Left on 07/03/2013 for a stay in June 2013

As avid travelers who have spent time in many places around the world, I must say Willow Bank is truly a hidden gem. We spent the week at this cottage with our 6 month old son and it was such a perfect retreat to spend some time at. Highlights include relaxing and watching all the birds come and go, seeing the views up Willow Creek that lead into the lake is so nice its such a great way to spend the day, we barbecued on the amazing deck every night and had bonfires at night, we woke up each morning to the sun shining and birds chirping, it really was a perfect week Its also worth mentioning that Willow Bank feels secluded like no ones around and you have the whole place to yourself,the ambiance was so calming in that aspect. I don't think that there is one thing i would add or change at Willow Bank  We were greeted by Glenn the owner when we arrived and he truly was so welcoming and made us feel at home the second we walked onto the property. The cottage was very clean and so well equipped with everything you needed and had so many great details that we enjoyed it was also  very well decorated with great little unique touches wherever you looked. We truly enjoyed this place and it was hands down the best trip we have had in Ontario. We already booked our week for next year and plan to make Willow Bank our summer retreat. If your looking for a place to stay in Tobermory you should stop looking now and e-mail Glenn cause I know when you arrive at Willow Bank you will feel like its the most perfect spot ever.

Danny, Tamra and Dali

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 07/08/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Danny, thank you and Tamra for deciding to spend sometime at the Willow Bank. It was a pleasure to meet you both and your cute little son, Dali.

I enjoy welcoming our new guests to the cottage as they first arrive. Usually, we have only communicated via email during the booking process and for me to meet our guests and to be able to put a face to a name is something that I like to do. It only takes a few moments, but I can quickly show them around the cottage and the property, answer any questions they might have and then I am on my way.

I am glad that you and your family were able to experience some of the magic of the Willow Bank. It really is our special little oasis on the Northern Bruce Peninsula that I like to share with our guests. I look forward to welcoming you folks back to the cottage next year.

I looked at your website. You are an amazing photographer. I hope your photography business in North Bay continues to flourish.

Uk family
London, England

Idyllic location and excellent facilities - highly recommended

Left on 06/27/2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent 5 nights here with our toddler and had a wonderful time.  The cottage is in a lovely location, overlooking a pretty river leading into lake Huron. You can't see any other cottages nearby so we really felt away from it all, even though Tobermory was only 15 mins away.  We sat on the decking, watching the beautiful scenery, birds (and eagles) flying overhead, and it was so relaxing.  The cottage has all mod cons, kitchen equipment you could need and is finished to a high standard, and Glenn, the owner has thought of pretty much everything.  Glenn responded very quickly to any queries before and during the stay, and has a very professional and welcoming approach.  We would have loved to have stayed longer - it was one of the best places we have stayed in Ontario.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 06/28/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled whenever we have a family travel to the cottage from overseas. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

 

Jane
Toronto

Great Stay!!

Left on 06/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013

I visited in a group of 8 (including a 2 year old) over a weekend in June 2013. The cottage was beautiful, clean, and well cared for - way above our expectations. We loved the peace and quiet,and spent alot of time on the main deck. Overall we had a wonderful trip - only disappointing factor was that it was only 2 days!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 06/11/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thanks for taking the time to review the cottage following your stay. I hope you folks will consider returning to the Willow Bank for a longer stay in the future.

It should be noted that the maximum number of people allowed at the cottage is 7 including children. Special consideration is sometimes given to allow one more person to stay in special circumstances.

Rita
Kingsville

Fantastic cottage for nature-lovers

Left on 05/27/2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our family recently enjoyed a memorable 4 days at Willow Bank Cottage. The cottage was very clean and comfortable for our family of 7 adults and a child, with many amenities and a lovely property. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for cooking. We enjoyed long breakfasts and evening Bbqs while watching the birds and other wildlife from the huge deck. We took advantage of the use of the private kayaks and enjoyed long hikes in the area and on the Bruce Trails. A perfect ending to our day was enjoyed by all at the campfire near the water, roasting marshmallows and enjoying the beauty of the peaceful surroundings. Thank you Glenn for being such a friendly and helpful host.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford - 05/27/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

I am so glad that your family enjoyed their time spent together at the Willow Bank. It can be a great place for family reunions. I hope you will consider returning to the cottage sometime in the future.

Dennis
Mississauga

What an awesome spot & cottage

Left on 05/21/2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent 4 days at the Willow Bank and had a fabulous time. Not only did the weather treated us well, but the Cottage itself is great! Saw a lot of wildlife around the cottage, went Kayaking and hiking.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Jason & Kelly H
Toronto

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Willow Bank Cottage. Upon our arrival we were met by the owner, Glenn, who was friendly, engaging and informative. Willow Bank has "all the amenities", including wifi Internet access and a large screen Hdtv (with satellite programming). Fortunately for our marriage :) the cottage is situated on a scenic inlet connecting to Lake Huron. We used the provided kayaks on a couple of occasions, which allowed us to truly appreciate the beautiful setting. It was a pleasure to sleep in a king-sized bed, in a bedroom overlooking the inlet. Very relaxing!

We enjoyed seeing the rabbits on the property as well as the multitude of birds that were availing themselves to the feeders off of the back deck. Multiple bald eagle sightings were also a high point!

Tobermory is roughly 15 minutes by car; we enjoyed the fare offered at Crowsnest Pub, Princess Dining Room and The Fish and Chips Place. There are many hikes to be had nearby on the Bruce Trail, including the Burnt Point Loop, which provides great views of Georgian Bay.

We had a wonderful time during our stay and certainly hope to visit again!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 05/17/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thank you! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return. If I had of known it was your anniversary, I would have provided a bottle of wine to help you folks celebrate. Next time. :-)

Four hikers
Ellison Bay

Lovely and peaceful location

Left on 10/08/2012 for a stay in September 2012

This cottage is perfect for a quiet get-away. Every amenity is provided and the owners are very accommodating and thoughtful. We enjoyed the  birds on the deck feeders, the views of Willow Creek and Lake Huron beyond, and ended each evening with a campfire on the shore.  The Willow Bank Cottage was a perfect resting spot after daily hikes on the Bruce and other nearby trails.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Bratuz Family
Burlington

A Wonderful Family Vacation Spot

Left on 08/13/2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have been going to Willow Bank cottage now for the last five years.  For my family, it is a home away from home and my children just love visiting the "cottage" every year!  Willow Bank has everything you need plus more.  We had some rainy days this year and it was nice to watch movies on the flat screen and when the weather was nice we liked sitting out on the back deck to watch the wild life in the area.  Singing Sands beach is also only a 5 minute car ride away and my kids enjoyed hiking and swimming in the lake.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 01/19/2013

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

Thanks, Richelle, I am glad that your family enjoys their time spent at the cottage.

One of the most  enjoyable aspects of owning a rental cottage is the ongoing friendships that develop with our guests that return to the cottage year after year. Its also a wonderful experience to watch their young children mature and grow in confidence to begin exploring the area surrounding the cottage on their own. Often times, children leave us hand drawn pictures of their stay at the cottage and we treasure each and every one of them.

The staff of the Bruce Peninsula National Park conduct interpretative nature programs at various locations like the Singing Sands Beach. I understand that one such program helps visitors identify various wildlife including reptiles and other creatures found near the Singing Sands Beach. Both adults and children seem to love participating in these programs.

Rob
Lincoln, England

A Fantastic weeks stay at Willow Bank Cottage

Left on 07/15/2012 for a stay in June 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at Willow Bank in June. It was just the peaceful retreat we were after, easily the nicest holiday cottage we've stayed in yet. A good sized property, well looked after and a pleasure to stay in would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying here and we hope to visit again in the future. Glenn went out of his way to be helpful and to ensure our stay went as well as possible

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Mika
Quebec

Beautiful site and comfy cottage

Left on 07/07/2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were 6(4 adults and 2 children) to stay at this beautiful cottage.The location is perfect (very close to beach and center town of Tobermory). The cottage is located right in front of lake so we did pedal boat and kayaking. The water is very clear. Kitchen had everything we needed. The view from balcony was wonderful! The owner was very friendly. We loved staying at Willow Bank cottage and we would love to come back one day! Thank you so much for everything,Glenn. You are the best.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Ashley
Burlington, ON

Relaxing

Left on 06/17/2012 for a stay in June 2012

Our week long stay at Willow Bank was exactly what we were looking for. The cottage is beautiful and has everything you could possibly require. The views of the water were beautiful, and spending the day on the deck in the sun was great. The wildlife (birds, chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits) were fascinating to watch. The cottage is located close enough to town, hiking, and the beach that the location is ideal. Glenn is very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone that is looking to rent in the area, and I plan on returning.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Jan Wilson
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire. UK

Charming cottage in peaceful surroundings

Left on 06/12/2012 for a stay in June 2012

Willow Bank Cottage exceeded our expectations, the cottage was very clean and comfortable and had superb views of the Lake with easy access to the inlet and the lake.  The cottage and cabin accommodated our mixed family of 4 adults and 2 children with ease giving us the space for all to enjoy the relaxing environment.  We took advantage of the kayaks, peddle boat, open camp fire (to toast huge marshmallows)and barbecue, all being great fun for both the young and older members of our group.  The entertainment room on the lower level was a bonus and again  enjoyed by us all.  The kitchen was well stocked with all the crockery/pots & pans/cutlery etc needed to enable us to cook inside or out.  Early mornings were spent over long breakfast watching the wonderfully colourful array of birds coming to the feeders leading to a very peaceful start the day (despite the weather conditions not being the best).  With shopping needs provided in nearby Tobermory our short stay at Willow Bank was just what we needed after spending 2 nights in busy downtown Toronto. Thanks to Glenn & Brenda for providing a very comfortable place for others to enjoy.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Brian
Mississauga, Ontario

Great cottage in great location

Left on 06/10/2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at Willow Bank for 3 nights in June and wish we could have stayed longer! The cottage itself was great: private lot, clean house with great layout, lots of amenities, and new renovations added some modern touches to the interior. The movie room in the basement is great for rainy evenings. Best of all was the location which is just down the road from Singing Sands beach, 10min from Tobermory and only a short drive to some great hiking trails throughout the national park! We're hoping to be back soon to continue exploring the area!!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Maral
Toronto

Unwind, relax and enjoy!

Left on 09/04/2011 for a stay in August 2011

We've been coming to Willow Bank for several years. It's a very peaceful and private spot where we enjoy quality time with our family, yet it's close to the lovely beach at Singing Sands and and for regular jaunts into the charming town of Tobermory. All necessities are provided and special like the paddle boat and kayaks make it extra fun. The cottage itself is beautiful - clean, updated and nicely furnished. The view and setting are gorgeous. There is lots for our two young daughters to explore and enjoy. Sitting on the deck and just taking in nature is what it's all about. The week always flies by!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Jeff & Penny
London, Ontario

More than I expected

Left on 08/20/2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a fantastic time at Willow Bank.  There was so much more to the cottage than I had expected. The kitchen is fully stocked including a mix master and drink maker.  The basement TV room was wonderful sounds awesome.  We stayed for two weeks and loved it.  Thanks for a great experience Glenn and Brenda.  Loved all the birds that ate at the feeders.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

The Bratuz Family
Burlington Ontario

Northern Summer Getaway

Left on 07/31/2011 for a stay in July 2011

As a family, this is our 4th summer stay at Willow Bank.  The cottage is a home away from home with all the luxuries to make your stay very comfortable.  The cottage is close to many beaches.  Our favourite with the kids is Singing Sands Beach and we hiked to the Grotto this year.  Our daughter learned how to kayak on Willow Creek and our son watched for humming birds and squirrels as they came to eat at the numerous feeders on the property.  I loved to read on the back deck during the day and listen to the waves from Lake Huron and I star gazed at night. We look forward to returning to Willow Bank next year.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

SC
Woodbridge,Ontario

We had a wonderful vacation at Willow Bank

Left on 07/17/2011 for a stay in July 2011

This was our first time renting a cottage and it turned out to be excellent. The owner is friendly and helpful, made us feel like home. The cottage is clean, neat and cozy. It has everything we need.   We enjoyed the bird watching, paddle boat, kayaks, fire pitch, swing, beautiful view, fully equipped kitchen, BBQ grill, ...even board games. It is close to trails, cruise  boat to Flower Pot Island, beach, Tobermory. We had a great week there and we sure will return some other time!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

SSYS
Montreal

Beautiful Cottage in a peaceful setting

Left on 07/12/2011 for a stay in July 2011

Our family with 2 young children stayed here for a week and had a fantastic time. The weather was spectacular- warm and mainly sunny during the day with a gentle breeze most of the time and comfortable at night. The setting was quiet and conducive to relaxation. The cottage was everything we could have asked for and even more than advertised- immaculately clean, spacious, and fully equipped for a very comfortable stay including all sorts of kitchen items and appliances, washer/dryer, stereo with CD player, satellite TV, DVD, etc. The deck was a great place to watch many different types of birds, get some sun, and have meals together. There is a newly renovated room on the lower level with a large flat screen (satellite) TV, fireplace, and pullout bed. There are 2 kayaks and a paddle-boat for fun in the water. We roasted marshmallows almost every evening at the fire pit located by the stream; firewood, fire starters, and benches were all provided. The cabin looks out onto a slow moving shallow stream that empties into Lake Huron which is visible from the deck. The second floor has a large master bedroom with king bed and walkout balcony/chairs, another bedroom with queen bed, and a large bathroom with shower and full-sized tub.

The local area is full of recreational opportunities; we kept going back to Singing Sands beach (a 5 minute drive from the cottage) so that the kids could play in the warm shallow water and make sand castles. We also tried several short hikes on the Bruce Trail, and visited the National Park.

The cottage owner was extremely professional, attentive to our needs, and assisted with any questions or concerns that arose before, during, and after our stay.

All in all the cottage clearly exceeded our expectations and we all hope to return again in the future.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Mary
Woodstock, Ontario

It is a delightful cottage with a wonderful view,

Left on 06/25/2011 for a stay in June 2011

If you love nature, love solitude and would love to explore the woods, and shores of Lake Huron and Georgian Bay, while you live in a cottage that meets your every need, then this is the cottage for you. The cottage is more like a home than a cottage.  The owners will do everything they can to make your stay a wonderful one.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Liz & Naz Morowat
Aurora Ontario

Peaceful, and beautiful, truly a wonderful relaxing experience!

Left on 06/25/2011 for a stay in June 2011

The cottage is clean, and fully equipped with way more than what I expected, it's truly a home away from home.  My daughters enjoyed themselves, specially Valerie, she's 11, and loved the nature, and Kayak trips we had together.  I would for sure recommend it, and we are planning on returning.  We loved it!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Anka
Toronto

Great getaway with friends!

Left on 05/28/2011 for a stay in May 2011

We spent Victoria Day long weekend at Willow Bank and it was amazing! Great location, great amenities, privacy; just a few words to describe the good time we had there. We went kayaking, enjoyed the huge patio, the nature around the cottage: blue jays, hummingbirds, even flying squirrels! We would definitely like to go back.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Tran
London

It was much more than expected!

Left on 10/09/2010 for a stay in September 2010

Willow Bank is a wonderful cottage that literally has everything that you need. We could have showed up with nothing but clothes and food and would still have been comfortable. The amenities were impressive. This place definitely has everything that you need. Willow Bank is an extremely comfortable cottage that has a wonderful surrounding of nature and wildlife. The creek that empties into Lake Huron nearby is full of a diverse creatures including flying squirrels, heron, and hummingbirds!

I went with a group of mature Graduate Students. Though the owner was hesitant at first at the idea of renting to students, he was still willing to rent to us once he talked to me and was convinced we were a calm responsible group.

All of us had an unforgettable experience. It was a very refreshing and relaxing environment. I can't emphasize enough how comfortable the cottage was. We're all going to recommend Willow Bank Cottage to all of our friends and family if they plan on visiting Tobermory.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

mdg
Toronto

Excellent vacation

Left on 08/29/2010 for a stay in August 2010

Our stay at Willow Bank was top notch.  The cottage had all the small things as well as large.  We even made cookies one day because all the equipment for a full kitchen are there!  Forget about renting anything in Tobermory because the Willow Bank has it: Life Jackets, Kayaks, a BBQ, a beautiful view, tonnes of space, two TVs, a great deck.  All you need to do is bring some food!  We haven't had a more pleasant stay anywhere in the Peninsula and now, I think we have spoiled any other cottage experience because they won't measure up!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Bratuz Family
Burlington ON

A wonderful, relaxing summer retreat

Left on 08/11/2010 for a stay in July 2010

This was our third summer at Willow Bank.  Our family really enjoys the time we spend there.  It is a home away from home without the noise and hectic pace of city life.  Tobermory is a pretty little town to visit and our children love swimming at Singing Sands Beach.  We look forward to returning to Willow Bank next year.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Fawn
Toronto

The Roost

Left on 08/06/2010 for a stay in July 2010

Received great service via the owner about details, photos, contract etc.  Some confusion about check-in - did not know we had to be there precisely at 4 p.m. and owner would be waiting.  This needs to be made clearer.
The home was immaculate (somewhat too immaculate - worried about leaving behind a grain of sand)
The location to stores, activities was perfect for our family.
Lots of wildlife like chipmunks, humming birds, rabbits, blue heron, terns in the river etc.  Very tranquil spot indeed.
When doing our walk-through of the cottage upon arrival, the owner showed us where the cleaning products were located in the cottage and added that "we should not be afraid to use them".
Owner promoted access to a fire pit on the river bank, but when we asked, he made us feel uncomfortable about using said fire pit. He did, however, provide us with firewood the next day and we had an evening fire with the kids.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes


Was this review helpful? Yes

Response from Glenn  A. Aishford   - 05/11/2011

Glenn  A. Aishford

Owner

We do appreciate that our guests have taken the time to provide us with their feedback regarding their Willow Bank cottage rental experience. We are always looking for ways to make the cottage more comfortable and ideas to better serve our guests.

Guests at the Willow Bank cottage need not worry about their arrival time. They are free to arrive at the cottage anytime after the agreed upon check-in time. The cottage will be ready for them at the time specified in their rental agreement. We will often spend whatever time we have between one group leaving and another group arriving to ensure that the cottage is clean, tidy and that the cottage supplies have been replenished. We sometimes like to welcome our guests to the Willow Bank cottage in person. We usually give them a quick walk through when they arrive. We have found that this can be a great time to answer any questions they might have regarding the Willow Bank cottage, the area surrounding it, the Northern Bruce Peninsula or the Village of Tobermory.

The Willow Bank cottage has been built on the shore of a sheltered bay of Lake Huron surrounded by a mixed coniferous forest on the western edge of the Bruce Peninsula National Park. In the evening it is a great place to sit around a campfire. Complimentary firewood and fire starters are provided for our guests to use in the shore-line fire pit that has been constructed there. Visitors to the Willow Bank cottage are welcome to enjoy a campfire and we know that children of all ages find it fun to roast marshmallows and hotdogs. Sometimes, if the weather has been dry for a while or high winds are forecasted, we might suggest to our guests that it might not be a safe night for a campfire. We might also suggest that they check with the local authorities regarding any potential fire bans that might be in effect at the time of their stay. Of course, during periods of cooler temperatures or during periods of wet weather, guests to the Willow Bank cottage are always able to enjoy a blazing fire in the wall mounted gas fireplace located in the comfort of the recently created entertainment room on the lower level of the cottage. And just like "Smokey the Bear" always says, please burn responsibly.

SAH
Huron County

Willow Bank is the perfect with kids.

Left on 07/18/2010 for a stay in July 2010

This was our second visit to Willow Bank.  We like it because of its close proximity to Singing Sands Beach and the cottage is located right on Lake Huron.
The little inlet is protected and the water is shallow so we felt comfortable letting our 5-year-old play alongside the water to catch frogs, minnows and crayfish.


We also like Willow Bank for its amenities, cleanliness and service.  The little cabin beside the main house is great for Grandma's who tag along.  :-)
The new basement renos were appreciated and are a nice addition for added space.
Owners go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Muellers
Waterloo

Relaxing Vacation

Left on 07/11/2010 for a stay in July 2010

It was a very nice cottage.  The owners were helpful in explaining everything we needed and helpful when we were locked out!

We liked the area and will probably visit again.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

The Rowley Family
Dublin. Ireland

A real haven where time stands still !

Left on 06/29/2010 for a stay in June 2010

Having stayed in numerous holiday homes around Europe over the last few years we would highly rate Willow Bank as a wonderful place to stay.  Our 3 boys aged 6,9 and 10 rated it as "best holiday ever", taking to kayaking like ducks to water and pottering safely around in the creek looking for frogs and any other "critters" they could spot.  The deck is a really spacious spot where you could while away the hours reading on the loungers or just take in the wonderful view towards the lake.   We also enjoyed great hikes along various parts of the Bruce Trail and yummy ice creams in "The Sweet Shop".

The cottage is immaculately presented with the owners thinking of everything from the bright, colourful array of hanging baskets and pots, to the welcome bottle of wine,  to the selection of Dvds which inspired the boys to become "Crocodile Dundees" in the creek.   The master bedroom has a wonderfully comfortable bed with beautiful views down the creek. 

Glenn, our host,  was a pleasure to meet, sharing with us his great knowledge of wildlife in the area.  All in all Willow Bank is a haven and perfect place to spend real quality time with your family, experiencing the best of the Canadian outdoors.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Maral
Toronto, Ontario

Perfect relaxing getaway!

Left on 04/02/2010 for a stay in July 2009

Our family has been coming to Willow Bank each summer for the past few years. We love the beautiful view, the quiet atmosphere, the lovely grounds, and the immaculate cottage. Our daughters always have a wonderful time exploring, chasing chipmunks, and they now are hooked on kayaking too. We are never at a loss for fun activities with Singing Sands and Bruce National Parks so near by. Glenn and Brenda always make us feel so welcome and they really have thought of everything!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

The Bratuz Family
Burlington, Ontario

A wonderful family retreat

Left on 03/24/2010 for a stay in July 2009

Willow Bank Cottage is a great family vacation retreat close to Tobermory.  Glenn and Linda have done a great job making the cottage a home away from home.  They have thought of everything from how the place is decorated to the extra movies and board games they have available for family use.  Willow Bank has a beautiful back deck great for reading a book, having a picnic, getting some sun or watching the stars at night.  Willow Bank is also close, a short 5 min. car ride, to Singing Sands beach.  My children spend hours there swimming and building in the sand.  You can walk out for miles and the water level is shallow and warm.  We also enjoy going into Tobermory for groceries and the occasional snack at "The Sweet Shop". This will be our third summer visiting Willow Bank, we look forward to our time there!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Add Guestbook Entry

Highlights
  • Smoke free and Pet free environment
  • 4 Bedrooms that includes a one room Guest Cabin
  • One bathroom has a claw-foot tub and glass-door shower. Second bathroom has a glass-door shower.
  • Complimentary wireless high speed internet
  • Well equipped kitchen
  • Modern amenities including dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer
  • Large elevated front deck with lounge chairs overlooking waterfront
  • Gas BBQ and outside dining at patio table with chairs
  • 46" HDTV with Satellite receiver, Surround Sound and Blu Ray Player
  • Vast collection of Blu Ray movies and music concerts
  • Wall mounted gas fireplace in Entertainment Room
  • 2 Kayaks and a 2 person paddle-boat provided
  • Shoreline fire pit, one bench, chairs and complimentary firewood
  • Bird feeders and hanging baskets of flowers
  • Located near the Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park
  • Just down the road from Singing Sands Beach
Location
Willow Bank Cottage- Private Lakeside Retreat-Tobermory